2017 Sports Awards Evening


Annual 'Life Membership' of the Society went to Snr Sgt. Wayne Stokes. Wayne was a founding member of the Victoria Police Cricket Club, as well as the only player to have played in every Australia New Zealand Police Cricket Championship. Wayne has served as a Vice-Captain, Secretary, Treasurer and Vice-President and contributed to the success of the club since its formation in 1983.


Athlete Scholarship- This award was presented to Senior Constable Shaun Taylor who achieved first place in an Athletics Victoria 200m Shield Race, as well as both the 200m Victorian and Australian Masters Finals.


Administrator of the Year- Awarded to Insp. Marg Lewis who is a founding member of the Victoria Police Woman's Soccer Club in 2012. Marg led the development of Woman's 'Blue Ribbon Foundation' Cup and the 'Ann Brimblecombe Memorial' Cup. Furthermore Marg planned, coordinated and facilitated the Soccer Clubs Good Friday appeal and coordinated three teams in the Australasian Police and Emergency Service Games.


Most Outstanding Individual Police Sporting or Welfare Achievment of the Year -Presented to Det. Senior Constable Adam Moore, who is a member of the Victoria Police Amateur Basketball Association. He participated in the Australasian Police Basketball Tournament last October and led his team to the finals, resulting in Adam winning the Most Valuable Player Award.


Most Improved Police Team of the Year- The winner of this award was the Victoria Police Golf MatchPlay Team who are involved in the Australian Police MatchPlay Championships. The Victorian Squad defeated Queensland in the 2016 MatchPlay Championships and ended Queenslands 7 year finals streak, to become the 'National Champions'.


Most Outstanding Police Recreation, Social or Other Achievment of the Year- Awarded to the Victoria Police Cricket Club- 'Harmony in Cricket T20 Cup'. The 'Harmony in Cricket' match was able to provide the club an amazing opportunity to interact with young refugees and asylum seekers, to break down barriers and form a connection between them and the Victoria Police.


Most Outstanding Police Club of the Year- Presented to to Victoria Police Soccer Club who were involved in three major events in the past 12 months including the Ann Brimblecombe Cup, the Blue Ribbon Cup and the Tony Clarke Memorial Day amongst a multitude of other community events, both raising awareness and forging relationships within the community.


Victoria Police Sporting 'Hall of Fame'- This prestigious award went to Supt. Lisa Hardeman presented by Chief Commissioner Graham Ashton. Lisa enjoyed an illustrious Football career, starting at the Fairfield Football Club, continuing through Ballarat, the Darebin Falcons and playing 111 Games for the Victorian Womens Football league from 1988-1999, receiving an exceptional number of awards and achievements throughout her playing career.