2019 Victoria Police Sports Awards


The 25th Victoria Police Sports Awards were held on Tuesday 17th September at The Park Function Centre in Albert Park where nearly 300 guests came to celebrate and acknowledge the sporting and welfare achievements of the clubs affiliated with the Victoria Police Amateur Sport & Welfare Society. Special guests in attendance for the evening included the Hon. Lisa Neville, Minister for Police & Emergency Services, Deputy Commissioner Rick Nugent (on behalf of CCP), Emergency Management Victoria Commissioner Andrew Crisp, Shadow Minister for Police David Southwick, & Assistant Commissioner Kevin Casey.

The evening was hosted by Comedian Col Cameron who entertained the crowd throughout the night with his lively humour. Special Guest Speaker for the evening was AFL icon Rodney Eade. Rodney provided some great insights into the many characters he had played with and coached throughout his career which was followed by the guests interacting with him with some questions from the floor.

Throughout the evening, awards were presented to individuals and clubs with the following winners announced:

Most Outstanding Police Sporting Achievement of the Year = Victoria Police Cricket Club – Winning a record 8th ANZPCC Championship

Most Outstanding Police Recreation, Welfare or Social Achievement = Law Enforcement Torch Run – Eastern Awareness Special Olympics Tour

Victoria Police Sports or Welfare Administrator of the Year = Det. Snr Sgt Dave Collins (Bendigo Police Angling Club)

Most Outstanding Police Club of the Year = Victoria Police Amateur Basketball Association

Most Improved Police Team of the Year = Victoria Police Rugby Club Women’s Team

Victoria Police Amateur Athlete Scholarship = Sen. Const Amy Frost

The highlight of the evening was the announcement of a new inductee into the Victoria Police Sporting Hall of Fame. With family and friends in attendance, retired Detective Senior Constable Ross Forster was announced as the 29th member join the Hall of Fame. Ross excelled in cycling where he is a former Australian Champion in the 50km Points Race, 4000m Teams Pursuit and Victorian 50km Points race champion. Ross was also the 1979, 1981 & 1982 “World of Sport” Roller Cycling Champion. A video of him racing in 1981 was shown to the audience and received with great enthusiasm.

Victoria Police Sports Administrator Adam Drinkwell commented:

“It was a very enjoyable and entertaining evening and the Victoria Police Amateur Sport & Welfare Society (VPASWS) look forward to another successful 12 months with its affiliated clubs and associations. Our clubs do an amazing job both within Victoria Police and the community in providing sporting, recreation and welfare opportunities for members and our annual Sports Awards give us an opportunity to acknowledge all this great work.”