2022 Victoria Police Sports Awards


For the first time since 2019, over 200 guests attended the 2022 Victoria Police Sports Awards at the beautiful San Remo Ballroom in Carlton on Wednesday 7th September. The impact of COVID-19 meant that the Awards night was not held in 2020 and 2021 so it was great to once again be able to stage the Awards and welcome everyone back. The night was presented by the Victoria Police Amateur Sport & Welfare Society in partnership with ESSSuper and VIP guests included Chief Commissioner Shane Patton, Deputy Commissioner Rick Nugent, Minister for Police Mr Anthony Carbines, Emergency Management Commissioner Andrew Crisp, Shadow Minister for Police Mr Brad Battin, The Police Association CEO Wayne Gatt, and representatives from ESSSuper and BankVic.


The Master of Ceremonies for the evening was Mr Alan Latu, current ground announcer for the Melbourne Rebels and experienced speaker. Throughout the evening Alan was able provide his own insights on his sporting journey as well as keep the audience entertained. A highlight of the evening was the Sporting Guests Segment which featured Alan interviewing our main sporting guests who were Chris Anstey (Australian Basketball Hall of Fame member and former NBA player) and Cathryn Fitzpatrick (ICC and Australian Cricket Hall of Fame). Both Chris and Cathryn were able to describe their journey to elite sport as well as let the audience in on a few trade secrets!! It was great for everyone in attendance to get to know them more and their stories were well received by the audience.


Throughout the night, the Award winners were announced and presented. The winners were:


  • The Most Outstanding Club Administrator

Winner – Ret Snr Sgt Michael Olsen (Law Enforcement Torch Run)

Presented by – Chief Commissioner Shane Patton on behalf of The Provident Fund

  • The Most Outstanding Police Recreation, Social or Welfare Achievement

Winners – Girl in Charge Program (Victoria Police Netball Club) & Sally Langlands Well-being Grants (PPWPA)

Presented by – Nick Winbanks on behalf of BankVic

  • The Most Improved Police Team

Winner – Hot Fuzz (Victoria Police Hockey Club)

Presented by – Neil Soullier on behalf of the Blue Ribbon Foundation

  • Athlete Scholarship for Pursuit of High Performance

Winner – Rebecca Gauci

Presented by – Felicity Brasher on behalf of ESSSuper

  • The Most Outstanding Police Sporting Achievement

Winner – Deanne Butler

Presented by – Nick Winbanks on behalf of BankVic

  • The Most Outstanding Police Club

Winner – Law Enforcement Torch Run

Presented by – Wayne Gatt on behalf of The Police Association of Victoria


To conclude the evening, a new name was added to the Victoria Police Sporting Hall of Fame. This prestigious honour is awarded to a Police member who has excelled in the sporting industry whilst being an active member of the Force. The new inductee announced for 2022 was Jessica Surace for her sporting excellence in Indoor Cricket having represented Australia and Victoria over a 15-year period. Jessica becomes inductee number 30 after the Hall of Fame was established in 1995. It was great that Jessica could share this honour with her friends, family, and work colleagues on the night.

The Victoria Police Amateur Sport would like to thank the following for their contribution to the evening:

  • ESSSuper
  • BankVic
  • The Police Association of Victoria
  • The Provident Fund
  • Blue Ribbon Foundation
  • Victoria Police Alpine Club
  • Chris Anstey
  • Cathryn Fitzpatrick
  • Alan Latu
  • Victoria Police Games Federation
  • San Remo Ballroom